I Quit: A Clarification

Maybe I learned a lot doing this; right now it feels like the main thing I’ve learned is that I don’t want to do it. Naturally it’s somewhat embarrassing that it took me about seven quarters to find this out. What can I say. I’ve always been a slow learner. I’m not even acquainted with my own desires.

Anyhow, that was the best I could do. Somebody else will maintain the world’s best math blogroll in the nature of the case; this one created no comments that I can recall and I expect I would’ve remembered. I’ll go on ranting about something somewhere—I’m quitting mathblogging, not self-publishing—nobody ever asked me to publish my bookmarks and anyhow there’s still the carny. (Hey, what’s this? Yay Denise!)

Because if that’s the best I can do, then my best manifestly isn’t good enough. In whatever it is, twenty months, I couldn’t learn to work the one feature that brought me here in the first place. So, you know, to hell with it.

  1. That’s it?

    You’re right to blog or not to blog, but I’ll miss it.

    jd

  2. Ron

    Me too. You may have more readers than you think. It looks like the problem with your previous post got cleared up today–I hope you give it another try.

    Ron (of the Dead Reckonings blogroll link)

  3. brutus12

    i enjoy your post, although i do not comment alot, the posts help me understand alot better. I check this site everyday, usually more than once to see if there is an update. Ultimately it is your decision, but it would be my hope that you continue posting, and if you change where you post be sure to let your “regulars” know where we can find your material.

  4. I have always enjoyed your blog but I understand the frustrations you are going through. My blog still looks awful on IE6 and on windows mobile phones – lord knows why but I have long given up trying to fix it.

    If this really is ‘it’ then good luck my friend – I enjoyed coming along with you for the ride. If, on the other hand, you change you mind and carry on then let me know so I can make sure I keep up with you.

    Best Wishes,
    Mike

  5. thanks all around for the encouraging words.
    i’m anticipating one more post
    announcing the next project
    whatever it is. there’ll probably be
    at least a side project wrapping up
    the notes on 148 for this quarter;
    sometimes it helps me prep the lectures
    –or so i like to tell myself.

    and, if i had my way, opening up
    a comments thread. in particular,
    and i hope not to put too fine a point on it,
    for god sake delurk if you’ve been reading
    this silly doggone stuff with any regularity;
    i could try to hint at what it would mean to me
    but i’d soon start misting up and have to
    change the subject. because if blogging
    isn’t begging for attention, why i’d like to know
    what the heck is so i can do that instead.

    traffic sort of spiked–i’d been getting
    a pretty steady fiftyish-a-day and hit
    180–so that’s sort of interesting.
    the fact that throwing a fit is often
    an effective way of *getting* attention
    has done a lot of cutting-both-ways
    in *my* life god knows.

    anyhow, i don’t have the emotional resources
    at this point to even *think* seriously about
    quitting my internet addiction (at this point;
    i can sort of see how it’s a good idea in principle
    and’ve even spoken– many times– of looking forward
    to the day when i’ll look *back* on my days on the web
    and am just as mystified by the whole thing then
    as i am now with my childhood TV habit–
    how *could* i have given up *hour after hour*
    to that silly box? etcetera etcetera…).

    so: later today i’ll have started a new blog
    somewhere and’ll come around and put out the invite.
    thanks for reading this far; god bless this world wide web

  6. RaiulBaztepo

    Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language ;)
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  7. thanks raiul. good to see there are still
    people finding out about this stuff…

  8. Hello !! ^_^
    I am Piter Kokoniz. Just want to tell, that I like your blog very much!
    And want to ask you: what was the reasson for you to start this blog?
    Sorry for my bad english:)
    Thank you!
    Piter Kokoniz, from Latvia

  9. hi piter! thanks for commenting!

    i started the blog because i’ve been
    saying certain things over and over
    whenever i can get other math teachers
    to listen and thought i’d enjoy
    saying them more publicly.
    as indeed i did.

    i *kept* doing it mostly to document
    my readings of *other* math blogs.
    then there was a brief flurry of actual writing
    (which continues in my new
    math and personal blogs).

    if you’re thinking of trying it,
    you can take it from me: it’s a lot of fun.
    (but don’t trust wordpress’s TeX interface.)

    on the other hand, blogging might well
    be past its sell-by date already.
    fashions change so fast on the net
    it’s easy to want to just give up
    (and *stay* given up).

  10. vlorbik

    ladies and gentlemen, fuck fuck fuck.




Leave a Reply

