Drill and Kill

I’ve been participating in a couple of comment threads over in KTM II about “the need for speed”. Here’s some context: “celeration” is a technique for keeping track of data from timed tests to “monitor and change human behavior frequencies”. Evidently created by barely-literate ideologues … but then, I can’t claim to have stuck around long enough at their site long enough to have an informed opinion …

Link of the Day
\bullet A top 10 books list at Math Blog.

  1. I’m not sure how you could get an informed opinion from that celeration site. I tried, but couldn’t last more than a couple of minutes.

    They did seem really impressed that the Fibonacci sequence looks like a line on a log graph, which is cute. I’m not sure about their conclusion that “almost every mathematical series” is asymptotically multiplicative (I think that was their assertion anyway). I’m pretty sure my 2-year-old could come up with a counterexample or two if he was pressed.

    I enjoyed your comments. I’ll have to start chiming in too.




Leave a Reply

  • (Partial) Contents Page

    Vlorbik On Math Ed ('07—'09)
    (a good place to start!)
  • Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

